80% of the New Jersey Shore falls in the boundaries of the Diocese of Trenton

from Sandy Hook to Little Egg Harbor

4 Counties comprise the Diocese of Trenton

Mercer, Monmouth, Burlington, Ocean

Cathedrals of the Diocese


Cathedral Church of Saint Mary of the Assumption, Trenton


Co-Cathedral of Saint Robert Bellarmine, Freehold


In addition to our diverse ethnic communities that are ministered to throughout the diocese we also have designated parishes that minister to the needs of the faithful that are drawn to the liturgical style represented by both the Charismatic Renewal as well as the Extraordinary Form (Pre-1962 Latin Mass).

Charismatic Parishes

  • Saint Mary, Mother of God Parish, Middletown Township (Monmouth County)
  • Saint Theresa Parish, Little Egg Harbor (Ocean County)

Extraordinary Form Parishes

  • Saint John the Baptist Parish, Allentown (Mercer County)
  • Saint Dominic Parish, Brick (Ocean County)
  • Holy Cross Parish, Rumson (Monmouth County)
  • Saint Catherine Laboure Parish, Middletown (Monmouth County)

Sacred Heart Parish in Trenton, NJ is the first and oldest Catholic Church in the state of New Jersey

Masses celebrated in 12 languages throughout the Diocese

English, Latin, Tagalog, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish, Vietnamese, Slovic, Creole, Polish, Korean, and Gaelic





Statistics about priests

177 Priests

  • 142 diocesan priests in active assignments in the diocese
  • 31 religious order priests
  • 4 extern priests

Age group of the priests

  • 36 priests, or 25% are currently over 65
  • The youngest diocesan priest is 28
  • The number of diocesan priests under age 50 = 48
  • Average age of active priests = 55 years

Country of origin of the priests: Ghana, Nigeria, Tanzania, Uganda, Haiti, Columbia, Ecuador, Peru, India, Philippines, Ireland, Poland, Spain, USA

Learn more about Diocese of Trenton on the main website: www.dioceseoftrenton.org